Foundation Stage Curriculum

Foundation stage:

Nursery and Reception - follows the EYFS. Four guiding principles shape our practice in the foundation stage.  

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers
  • children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.    

The areas of learning and development  

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.   Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

  • communication and language;
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.    

We also support children in the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.    The specific areas are: 

  •  literacy; 
  •  mathematics; 
  •  understanding the world; and
  •  expressive arts and design.